Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

This is also known in my family as Shrimp Dijon. We also make it with chicken, and flounder (though that was a first this time around). The recipe originated at a restaurant called Haussner’s in Baltimore, where my parents lived when they were first married.

Haussner’s was said to have had the best crab cakes (my mother reminisces about their perfection to this day) and was decked out with incredible artwork. The restaurant has, sadly, since closed, but this recipe was salvaged and posted inย The Baltimore Sun years ago, where my mother found it and scribbled it down into her book of favorite recipes.

The book actually almost falls open to the recipe on its own. This was one of those rare occasion special kind of treats. For three years in a row on my birthday, this was the dinner I chose to have (this was a much better choice than Taco Bell, which is what my sister wanted when she was four). It was always my job to make the sauce, which always seemed so daunting but really wasn’t.

ImageThis is a good, quick, easy staple. And if you’re not using shrimp, it’s cheap. Everything you need is probably already in your pantry, which is always a huge bonus to me. It’s also incredibly delicious, and it cooks incredibly quickly. It’s a great weeknight, easy dinner that everyone always loves.

All you need is this:

Image

  • About 24 Shrimp
  • 4 tbls Dijon Mustard
  • 2 tbls White Wine Vinegar
  • 3 tsp Sugar
  • 2 tbls Dried Dill (or 1/2 Cup Fresh Dill)
  • 1/2 Cup Olive Oil
  • 2 Cups Rice

These are the proportions we typically used. I doubled that recipe again since flounder and chicken was requested in addition to the shrimp. Regardless of how much you use, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Start cooking the rice as well.

While the oven heats, mix together all remaining ingredients except for the shrimp. I normally use a food processor or blender, but when I don’t have them around just whisking them together works, too. Mix until it looks something like this:

Image

I know, it doesn’t look like the most delicious thing in the world, but I can assure you that it’s pretty up there. Peel the shrimp if you haven’t already (or slice up the chicken, or prepare whatever meat that you have to as you please), and put it in a baking dish. Dump the sauce on top.

Image

Your prep work is done. Seriously. Pop the shrimp in the oven for five minutes (chicken and flounder needs closer to 8-10), then turn it to broil. Watch it closely, and as soon as the sauce starts to bubble, pull it out. Aaaaand, it’s done!

Image

That’s it! That’s all it takes! It’s a meal that comes together super quickly. Just spread a heaping helping of rice across your plate and pile the shrimp (or chicken, or flounder) and sauce up high.

