Tags

, , , , ,

Image

I swear I actually like to cook. I know every single recipe on here showcases either laziness or a reluctance to spend money on expensive ingredients, but I swear it’s only because I’m extremely low on both time and money.

This is one of those low-on-time recipes, and it’s one of my favorite go-to recipes, especially when I’m busy or craving comfort food. If I ever make steak and know that we won’t finish all of it, I hack off some meat, stick it in the freezer, and save it for stroganoff. Comfort food, indeed.

Fair warning here: you can’t blame me for making this not healthy. This is one of my guilty comfort foods, and I will not be apologizing (mostly because I prefer to just focus on how good it tastes).

This stroganoff is easy, and it’s quick. It’s only got a few ingredients, and it’s forgiving if you can’t stand over it and stare at it, unlike some creamier sauces. I’m not a mushroom fan, so that’s only a component sometimes if my mom will be joining me as well. The sauce is thick and creamy, and the nutmeg enhances both the color and taste, even though it’s just a sprinkle. So don’t skip the nutmeg, essentially.

Here’s what you’ll need (minus the mushrooms and sugar if you choose to add them):

Image

  • 1 lb steak of any type
  • 4 tbls flour, roughly (I used brown rice flour)
  • half a stick of butter
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 16 oz sour cream
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1/4 cup mushrooms (if you choose)
  • pinch of sugar (around 1/8 tsp or less)
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg, divided
  • 1 package egg noodles (or any other kind of noodles, I just used egg here. hint: you can absolutely substitute with gluten free noodles!)

Put a pot of salted water on to boil for the egg noodles (and cook when ready), and heat the butter in a large skillet. While the butter is melting, slice the raw beef into bite sized pieces, and cover thoroughly with flour, salt, and pepper.

Once the butter’s melted, add the steak bites (including any fat trimmings and the juices for extra flavor) into the pan. Sprinkle with about 1 tsp onion powder, or add onions if you’d like (I hate the texture of actual onions, so I cheat). Once the steak looks cooked most of the way through—this should only be a minute or so—it’ll look kind of like this, with the steak all perfectly browned and the butter a little frothy:

Image

Time to add the sour cream. Reduce heat to medium before upturning the whole damn container and scraping out every last creamy bit into the steak. Stir it turns to creamy liquid, and add that VERY TINY dash of sugar. Then, if you’re adding mushrooms and didn’t want to add it in with the steak (what most people do), you can add them in now if they’re previously cooked, like I did. I just added enough to add a hint of that flavor.

Image

Now is the time to make sure your noodles are close to done. Keep on low heat while your sauce bubbles down into ooey deliciousness, something a little like this:

Image

If the sauce doesn’t thicken, add some flour. If it’s too thick, you can add cream or milk to thin it out. Regardless, once it gets nice and creamy and thick (in a good way), it’s done. Add about ¼ tsp nutmeg, stir, then sprinkle a little more on top.

Image

The nutmeg is wonderful. I don’t know if most people add it (I had a friend who it repulsed, for some reason), but I wouldn’t make stroganoff without it. Dump over a pile of egg noodles, add some extra sauce, and savor every last wonderful bite. That’s what I do, anyways.

