Tags

, , ,

Image

I’ve come to a shocking realization in the past six months. Despite the fact that I’ve grown up with chicken at almost every meal, and regardless of my intense love of a good steak and mashed potatoes, I’ve discovered that I’m actually not much of a meat eater.

I’ve always had it so didn’t think to not have meat at every meal, until recently, when I couldn’t necessarily always afford to, and when I realized any meat is the last leftover I’m willing to tackle. I would rather eat it every so often than every night, when it comes to poultry and red meats. Seafood on the other hand? Different story.

I have learned that I will devour just about any fish or shellfish that is unfortunate enough to cross my path (and to anyone in the Central Florida region, check out Lombardi’s Seafood Market in Winter Park if you haven’t yet– even if it’s a drive, it’s 100% worth it). One dish that I’ve always seemed to have issues in the past with, however, was a common one I saw everywhere- shrimp scampi. For some reason, though, every recipe I tried came up under-seasoned, under-citrusy, or under something. I don’t know exactly what it was, but almost everything I tried came out tasting like shrimp doused in lemon-scented olive oil. Not appealing.

Then I found was Ina Garten’s recipe.

I changed a few things, chancing fate. I add things in different orders, and I threw in some white wine and cheese (because there’s few things I love more in the world than wine and cheese). That being said, I wanted to throw roses at the woman’s feet. Finally, I found a scampi recipe that I adored. Paired with some good wine, fresh bread, and baked eggplant parmesan (recipe to come very soon!), it was exactly the dinner I’d wanted.

Enticed yet? Here’s what you’ll need:

Image

  • 3 tbls butter
  • 2 tbls olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced fine
  • 1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 tsps salt
  • 1/4 tsps black pepper
  • 1/4 tsps red pepper flakes
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon
  • zest of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • Handful of fresh grated parmesan cheese
  • 16oz linguine or fettucine

As always, first thing’s first, start boiling the water for the pasta. Cook linguine as you go along.

Heat a large skillet over medium low heat, adding in 3 tblsp butter and 2 tblsp olive oil.

Image

Add 3 cloves of very finely minced garlic, and sauté for until it becomes aromatic. Here I used four cloves and smashed it, which worked for me, so pick your poison 😉

Image

Add in the peeled shrimp, 2 tsps salt, black pepper, and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes.

Image

Cook until almost pink on one side, flip, and add in the white wine, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Increase heat to medium.

Image

Image

Once the alcohol has been cooked out, about 3-5 minutes, add in the pasta, tossing and coating with sauce. Top with fresh parsley and a handful of fresh grated parmesan cheese. Serve immediately, and preferably with bread to soak up any extra sauce. Enjoy!

